The Book You Fall For

I began writing for the same reason a lot of people probably do: it made me happy.
I had stories in my head, characters I wanted to explore, and the easiest way to do that was to write them a story.

The problem with publishing those stories (for me, not for everybody) is that sometimes you lose that feeling, but you still have to keep going. Occasionally you never even get it.

Writing a new book is like meeting a new love. You never love two people exactly the same way or for exactly the same length of time. Every single one is different, and every single one fits you differently. Sometimes (usually when I’m working on a different story) a new story hits me like a tsunami, it’s all I can think about, it pours out of my fingertips, and sleep is the only thing stopping me from writing it all at once.

That’s the best. The absolute best.

I started a new project, a passion project, and I’m certainly not ready to announce anything about it yet, but all I’ll say at this point is that I’m absolutely smitten. I’m so in love with this book. I’m convinced it’s The One. I’m preemptively afraid for every book I have to write after it, because how can I ever love another as I love this one?

I’m in the honeymoon phase. I’m feeling young again! We just got together and things are going great. (Which is funny, because boy, is this NOT how I do love in real life, with actual people. LOL.) Ain’t No Other Book/Hero for me, no sir, no way.

There will be, of course. Because like relationships, the honeymoon will end, there will be struggles, times I have to plant myself in front of the computer and yank words out of my brain. There are days like that with every book (for me, especially at the end. I hate writing endings… I guess I never want to break up. :D) but for now… for now, I’m in love.

Anyway, when I can share this story with you (and I hope that’s soon), I hope you love it as much as I do. 🙂

-Sam Mariano

Leave a Reply

